Click to Text Click to Call
Wilcoxon Insurance, Inc.

4804 S. Minnesota Ave., Ste 103
Sioux Falls, SD 57108

Get Directions

Featured Insurance Blog

What auto insurance coverage is required in South Dakota

When you own a vehicle, it comes with some risks. You need to protect yourself from the risks that come with driving. The state of South Dakota has auto insurance requirements that all drivers are mandated to follow. At Wilcoxon Insurance Inc. in Sioux Falls, we make sure that all of our customers understand the law and have the insurance they need to stay on the right side of the law.

In South Dakota, you need to show proof of financial responsibility. The easiest way to do that is with auto insurance. The amount of coverage you must have is 25/50/25  plus uninsured motorists. This breaks down as $25,000 for a single person injured in an accident where you are the responsible driver, $50,000 for the entire amount of injuries in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage. The uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage needs to be at least the amount of the minimum required for injuries.

If you have an auto loan, your lender will require that you have coverage to protect your vehicle as well. That means having comprehensive and collision coverage. Collision coverage protects your vehicle from damage due to a collision. It can be with another vehicle when you are responsible, it can be a one-vehicle accident or even a hit-and-run. There is a deductible of your choosing with this coverage.

Comprehensive coverage is for damage your vehicle sustains that is not caused by an accident. It also covers you for the theft of your vehicle and for glass damage. The types of other coverage it provides are for things like hail and wind damage, flooding, and a deer that runs in front of your vehicle.

If you need your vehicle, having this coverage is a good choice. 

Contact Wilcoxon Insurance Inc. in Sioux Falls, SD when you are in the market for auto insurance.

Servicing States

  • South Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Iowa
  • Minnesota
  • Arizona
  • North Dakota
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin
  • Colorado